Green tea contains high amounts of caffeine, and is said to reduce folate absorption. Is Peppermint Tea Safe in Pregnancy? Pregnancy – Similar to breastfeeding, do not consume spearmint herbal tea if you are pregnant unless you have been otherwise directed by your doctor. }] It’s also considered to be a kidney tonic and gentle digestive, and is alkalising. Black and green tea are best avoided since they contain caffeine - which crosses the placenta." But during pregnancy, you should stay away from any herbal teas … Spearmint tea also helps control Hirsutism among women or the growth of unwanted hair on the face and other areas of the body. I have been drinking 1 cup of spearmint tea every evening for several months and the results are incredible. Spearmint tea has an impact on the hormonal balance within the body. It provides high levels of water-soluble iron, magnesium and calcium. There’s no evidence whether it’s safe or not, but it is an herb. Raspberry leaf tea was traditionally used in late pregnancy to prepare for birth and breastfeeding. Its aroma also helps in relieving stress and anxiety during pregnancy. Various types of herbal teas can also reduce morning sickness symptoms and even prepare the uterus for labour. } How do you prevent a faint line on your pregnancy test kit? Chamomile is a type of herbal tea. "acceptedAnswer": { If you’re a tea drinker, you’re most likely curious if it’s safe to drink tea during pregnancy. Very few people know this, but rooibos tea often contains higher levels of nickel and lead (toxic metals). To help reduce the side effects of gastrointestinal conditions such as bloating, flatulence, IBS and cramping, it is worth chewing on spearmint leaves or drinking spearmint tea. Ginger (Zingiber officinalis) for morning sickness. I have been drinking 1 cup of spearmint tea every evening for several months and the results are incredible. Source(s): drink spearmint tea pregnant: https://tr.im/yTm6K Spearmint is POSSIBLY SAFE when taken