Cinnamon is an expectorant, it has natural antibacterial and anti-inflammatory properties. If you plant herbs like mint, catnip, oregano and lemon balm your chickens are getting some nice green plants to nibble on and you get the pleasure of gathering herbs for tea and other uses. I love the smell anyway, so it’s a win-win. If a mint garden could repel flies, every horse barn, commercial poultry house, and livestock yard in the world would have herbs growing around it! Chickens love fresh herbs and mint is no exception. Chickens don’t sweat like humans do. i am new to chickens, so this post was great i already grow all of the herbs in pots Mint planted around or placed inside the chicken coop does not discourage rodents because the scent is not strong enough to offend or alarm them. A little in their nesting boxes and bedding to help keep parasites at bay. I do love the smell and I love drying it and using it in tea too. Mint isn’t the only herb that’s great for chickens. Animals can and do eat poisoned meat and become sick themselves. The best part is that it’s also great for them and their coop. Rose bushes provide nice shade, and the chickens love to eat the petals that have anti-oxidant properties. Personally, I love the smell of mint. eval(ez_write_tag([[300,250],'chickenandchicksinfo_com-medrectangle-4','ezslot_1',105,'0','0']));It’s a nutrient-rich herb that offers a wide range of health and wellness benefits for us, a few of which apply to chickens too. A credible herbalist will not recommend the use of any herb daily or indefinitely in a medicinal capacity. The newly hatched chicks will rub against the fresh herbs in their first few days of life which will help to impart them with protection from parasites and other nasties. Mintcomes in many varieties, including spearmint, peppermint, chocolate mint and orange mint. I usually just add about a teaspoon to their feed once a day throughout the winter. If you’re looking to add a herb to your garden, mint is on