Whatbird Community

I live in Raleigh, NC, and have a very busy three-feeders balcony.  Yesterday I got a new pair of birds and they were back today and I am unsure of what they are.  I am using a photo from online - my balcony is too dark to get a decent photo.  The difference from this grackle is the coloring - a lovely grey/brown all over, definitely not black or iridescent.  But the tail is just like this photo and the beak is also dark.  A very sleek, elegant bird, fairly large, more slender than the robins but the long legs and long tail make the birds look big.  Both were identical.  They look like photos of female boat-tailed grackles as to color but they are obviously a pair.  Any thoughts appreciated.  I am new to bird-watching but love it, especially now when we are quarantined.

JC_20130108__R9P6374W.jpg

• Like 1

welcome...
I haven't looked at the maps recently but I think boat-tailed grackles are common in that area. So that's possible.
If it's possible, though, try and get a photo. Even if it's a lousy cell phone photo, there are some people here that can work with it. :) 

You may be seeing a female; they are brown and not irridescent. Great-Tailed Grackles here tend to stay separated by gender except during breeding. Seeing two females together isn't unusual. Also it could be a female and her young; the young ones also look a lot like females. 

That’s very interesting. I know very little about birds but I don’t think I’ve ever heard about anything like that. Thank you for the information!

3 minutes ago, ccb said:

That’s very interesting. I know very little about birds but I don’t think I’ve ever heard about anything like that. Thank you for the information!