Whatbird Community
Sign in to follow this  
jroland

ID Hawk attacking sparrows at feeder

My 3rd photo on a new camera captured this picture of what I think is a Hawk about 10 inches from taking a sparrow.  This was taken just 5 miles east of Chicago in a suburban area.  Please help me identify what it is.

Hawk takes Sparrow - Close up.jpg

I had considered a Mourning Dove and had search for photos showing it flying from behind.  The photos I found had a different wing structure where there was clear separation between the wing feathers so that the entire neck and back are visible between the wings.  The tail also was much more symmetrical with bright white markings which this does not have.  I am new at this and would love to know how you identified it conclusively.  This is my first year using cameras, feeders, fountains and bird baths to enjoy nature. 

First, I'll say this quickly -- if you can, spend a few books on a field guide. On-line photos are a useful resource, but you're limited to whatever angles and lighting that the photographers saw fit to publish, and you're dependent upon them to get the ID right. (Many of them don't....)

For this guy -- ignore the clear separation between the wing and back. That's entirely dependent upon the moment that the camera caught the bird. Similarly, symmetry is something that all birds show under normal circumstances, so if you don't see it, that's not an ID mark. The overall soft brown color fading to gray, the dark spots on the tertials, and the shape and pattern of the tail are all distinctive. The bright white markings that seem to be missing here appears to be a combination of which feathers you're seeing (some of the outer ones appear to still be folded underneath), the age of the feathers (this is just about the time that old feathers are starting to be replaced, so some birds are going to look dingy or faded), and the lighting in the photo.

• Like 2