Whatbird Community
Bobal27

Not quite a turkey vulture?

ozQnsMZ.jpg
Saw this in Richmond, Indiana, on Thursday, July 30th. It’s a bit rainy, and the plumage is a little more brown than it looks like in this image. We don’t often get black vultures here in East Central Indiana, but turkey vultures are common. This, however, clearly doesn’t have the signature redness to its head, and has darker brown to black body feathers. Have I found a cross species, possibly, or is this a known, similar bird?

Posted (edited)

Actually I think it is a black vulture. Its head seems too dark to be young Turkey vulture, and it looks like it has some lighter colored wing feathers. https://macaulaylibrary.org/asset/64420881

Richmond, Indiana is slightly out of range for a black vulture, but not by much, so it doesn't seem impossible that it's a black vulture. (I'm no expert so I could be wrong)

Edited by Colton V

When you zoom in you can see some redness on the head so I'm thinking turkey vulture.

• Like 1

Posted (edited)

The reddish around the neck was not a photo artifact. That’s why I’ve been confused, it really looked like a mix of those two reference photos.

Edited by Bobal27

Just now, Bobal27 said:

The reddish around the neck was not a photo artifact. That’s why I’ve been confused, it really looked like a mix.

What if it’s a young bird transitioning to adult plumage. It would start to get some red on it’s head. Structure looks better for black though. Tail looks to short for Turkey. 

So, as I see it, so far, nobody is certain which it is. I did some research, and a certain vulture-banding ornithologist from Louisiana has caught (and presumably banded) what he claims was a cross between both species. Are there any experts around who can tell me if I’ve gotten the first photo of a cross-species vulture, or can point me in the direction of someone I can consult on the matter?