Whatbird Community

I did not take this photo.  I was posted on a FB page. The person lives in North Carolina and I believe that he believes this is a Kirkland's warbler, but I don't think it is.  I took a photo of it with my phone, but the eye-ring looks complete, not broken like a Kirkland's and there seems to be more spots than the photo's I've looked at of them.  The bill also looks wrong. Can anyone confirm this is a Kirkland's?

IMG-2853.jpg

That's kind of what I thought. I'm not good at identifying warblers, at all, but the broken eye-ring was easy to spot in the photo.  I spotted a Magnolia warbler this year, a first for me, and it looked very similar to this one, just not as many streaks, and a few other things that made it hard for me to ID. In fact, I asked for help IDing  it in the forum here. Anyway, thank you!

5 minutes ago, akandula said:

I honestly like Kirtland’s with that brown back, lack of distinct wingbars, and extensively spotted breast/throat, among other features.

Aw, man!  Everybody was happy with Magnolia and you had to open your bill again!  :classic_tongue:

2 minutes ago, Charlie Spencer said:

Aw, man!  Everybody was happy with Magnolia and you had to open your bill again!  :classic_tongue:

I always have my bill open... it's such a tough job to keep reminding people to drink their tea! :classic_laugh:

• Haha 4
Posted (edited)
20 minutes ago, blackburnian said:

This is obviously a Kirtland’s Warbler. I assume this is the same bird that was seen by myself and many others last week at Jordan Lake. Please let me know if this is a different bird so I can get the word out. 

This is the photo I saw on The Naturalist Notebook and yes, it was taken at Jordan Lake.  I'll admit, I'm a bit of a skeptic, at times, and in this case, I wanted it to be true because, as a bird lover, it would be truly one of the highlights bird watching, and although I'd be happy for the spotter, I'd be really jealous, as well.