Whatbird Community

In flight, the difference between the appearance of the legs in Greater Yellowlegs versus Lesser Yellowlegs is the same as between Black-crowned Night-Heron and Yellow-crowned Night-Heron.

• Thanks 1

12 hours ago, Tony Leukering said:

In flight, the difference between the appearance of the legs in Greater Yellowlegs versus Lesser Yellowlegs is the same as between Black-crowned Night-Heron and Yellow-crowned Night-Heron.

Do you think these birds can be IDd on that basis? I studied this page but cannot arrive at a conclusion--https://www.birdzilla.com/bird-identification/id-skill-development/comparisons-of-similar-bird-species/comparison-of-lesser-and-greater-yellowlegs.html.

It was a large flock...40 or more. I suspect Florence related. Unfortunately a bit distant. Thanks.

Yellowlegs in flight 2.JPG

Greater Yellowlegs flocks tend to be small and individuals within the flocks to be fairly dispersed.  Lessers fly in large flocks that are relatively tight.  Not tight like peep/Dunlin/Sanderling/etc. flocks, but tight for yellowlegs.  Also note that the legs look very long and seem to extend well beyond the tail.

• Thanks 1

On 9/19/2018 at 9:21 PM, Tony Leukering said:

Which beggars the question, "What's the difference in the appearance of the legs in flight between BCNH and YCNH?"  :classic_blink:

13 minutes ago, Charlie Spencer said:

Which beggars the question, "What's the difference in the appearance of the legs in flight between BCNH and YCNH?"  :classic_blink: