Whatbird Community

Recorded this today. Ok, I am new at audio recordings and forgot to not move my hand, so it’s all messed up and hard to hear. Oh well, I learned my lesson I guess...... The noises in here are a mixture of kids screaming, the movement of my hand, and wind, and birds. The birds calling, which hopefully you can hear, are rails of some sort. Are they Sora or Virginia Rail?? Taken today in orange, California 

thanks and sorry about the poor recording

New Recording.m4a

2 hours ago, IKLland said:

Recorded this today. Ok, I am new at audio recordings and forgot to not move my hand, so it’s all messed up and hard to hear. Oh well, I learned my lesson I guess...... The noises in here are a mixture of kids screaming, the movement of my hand, and wind, and birds. The birds calling, which hopefully you can hear, are rails of some sort. Are they Sora or Virginia Rail?? Taken today in orange, California 

thanks and sorry about the poor recording

New Recording.m4a 215.79 kB · 5 downloads

Doesn’t sound like a Sora to me. Don’t ask me what it is, though. It may not even be a rail.

• Thanks 1
39 minutes ago, Seanbirds said:

Doesn’t sound like a Sora to me. Don’t ask me what it is, though. It may not even be a rail.

I played a sora call, got one to respond, played a Virginia call, heard something....hoping it was a Virginia.......main focus as trying to get a rail to be brave enough to come out of hiding....

58 minutes ago, Melierax said:

That's a Virginia Rail. That's one of the many calls they can make. EDIT: Apparently that's the "female song"

Also funny, because I played a male call, not even a male song! Thanks!

32 minutes ago, Seanbirds said:

Do you count heard-only birds on your life list? :classic_blink:

I do. I see no reason why not. 80% of the birds on any normal list when I’m going out birding are heard only, and I count them, so I see no difference with heard only birds on the life list.