Whatbird Community

Seen today in Chicago, where it's almost always a Slate subspecies dark-eyed junco. This appears to be either Oregon or Pink-sided, both of which have been reported in the location I took these.  I can see where there may be a a mask consistent with pink-sided (although this could just be a function of lighting on a somewhat gray and gloomy afternoon)...on the other hand, the gray does not seem to go into the chest, which suggests Oregon, although I did not get any shots with the neck extended that would make it easier to see how far it does in fact descend. Any thoughts? Thanks!

_SFK2038.JPG

_SFK2035.JPG

_SFK2020.JPG

_SFK2019.JPG

2 minutes ago, PaulK said:

That looks to me like an immature female Oregon but I have no experience with pink-sided so please wait for someone with more expertise.

That was my thought as well...except I am relatively new to this, and have no experience with either of them 😃

• Like 1
3 hours ago, Tony Leukering said:

Pink-sided has, well, pink sides, not orange sides, with that color extending farther toward the longitudinal middle of the belly than this.

Oregon Junco

I have an issue of Birding from 2002 with an article by Jon Dunn on Pink-sided Juncos.  (You're quoted.)  It mentions that A. H. Miller said in 1941 that there were two types of flank color in Pink-sided, pinkish cinnamon and "more yellowish-washed", which Dunn understands as buffy-brown.  Dunn says the "yellowish" coloring is more common in females and may even occur in the majority of Pink-sided females.  Is there really a common coloring like that?  I haven't noticed it, here in northern New Mexico in the heart of the PInk-sided's winter range, but I'm somewhat color-blind and might not.

3 hours ago, Jerry Friedman said:

I haven't noticed it, here in northern New Mexico in the heart of the PInk-sided's winter range, but I'm somewhat color-blind and might not.