Whatbird Community

Is the duck in front 100% Mallard?

15 hours ago, chipperatl said:

I say not a pure Mallard.  Should be out of eclipse plumage by now.

I agree with Mottled (back) and Mallard hybrid (front). As far as I can tell all of our local Mallards completed moulting some time ago. Attached is a photo from this morning of a somewhat similar Mallard/Black Duck hybrid (usually the green on the head of this hybrid is more along the top similar to the Sibley illustration - at least in my experience). FWIW - as always I defer to the experts, unfortunately we seem to have lost some our waterfowl experts.

Mallard x Black Duck hybrid HVT-7534677.jpg

• Like 3

21 hours ago, Seanbirds said:

But is the male a hybrid or just molting? If I saw that here I'd call it a pure Mallard, but I dunno.

I would've written it off as an molting male Mallard. I don't see a reason to believe there is hybridization, but I have zero experience with Mottled Ducks.

• Like 4

That's gotta be some sort of Mallard x Mottled hybrid/backcross. There's quite a few features that don't make sense for Mallard like the brown flanks, head and back coloration, and the greenish (Mottled-like) speculum. It's also too late in the year for an eclipse bird and intersex birds have a female-type bill.

• Like 2

I believe both birds are males.