Whatbird Community
Charlie Spencer

How do you organize or manage your photos?

I have several hundred photos, not many compared to some people's libraries but to the point they're getting difficult to sort and organize.

Right now I sort them into folders by location or trip, but I'm getting tired of renaming them 'Blue Jay #4', 'Blue Jay #5', etc.  I'm thinking of using Windows' File Manager to tag the photos with 4-letter codes.

I'm hoping to avoid any solutions that require me to upload the photos to the web; as a network admin, I'm a bit paranoid about sharing sites.  I'd also prefer not to use a software solution that alters or changes the files in ways that aren't accessible from outside the application.

Thanks in advance for your suggestions, hints, or tips!

• Like 1

On ‎7‎/‎10‎/‎2018 at 6:16 PM, Charlie Spencer said:

I have several hundred photos, not many compared to some people's libraries but to the point they're getting difficult to sort and organize.

Right now I sort them into folders by location or trip, but I'm getting tired of renaming them 'Blue Jay #4', 'Blue Jay #5', etc.  I'm thinking of using Windows' File Manager to tag the photos with 4-letter codes.

I'm hoping to avoid any solutions that require me to upload the photos to the web; as a network admin, I'm a bit paranoid about sharing sites.  I'd also prefer not to use a software solution that alters or changes the files in ways that aren't accessible from outside the application.

Thanks in advance for your suggestions, hints, or tips!

I'd like to know, too. I'm not a network admin so this might end up over my head. Right now I am using Picasa, but the writing is on the wall. I would personally like a dedicated photo software program. One function that I liked in Picasa was the location pin on each photo (required having location set to "on" in your camera). Click on the pin and a map opens showing where the photo was taken. That function lo longer works, for me anyway.