Whatbird Community
Rgoodwin

Confirm Juvenile Bald Eagle

It is a Bald Eagle, but it's not a juvenile.  I'm thinking it's around three years old, but I'm not experienced with Bald Eagle aging.

Great, Thanks.  After I posted the photos I realized juvenile was not the best description for it's age.

It still has a few long juvenile feathers in the secondaries, so prebasic I, which if I understand that correctly, means it was born this past spring.

Scott

1 minute ago, cavan wood said:

It still has a few long juvenile feathers in the secondaries, so prebasic I, which if I understand that correctly, means it was born this past spring.

Scott

Oh, really?  It seems awfully light for a one-year-old, even if it didn't have all those bleached feathers.  I did think the beak was kind of dark for a three-year-old.  I obviously need to work on my Bald Eagle aging...

11 minutes ago, The Bird Nuts said:

Oh, really?  It seems awfully light for a one-year-old, even if it didn't have all those bleached feathers.  I did think the beak was kind of dark for a three-year-old.  I obviously need to work on my Bald Eagle aging...

I no expert on plumage.  I'm just working on what I read in the Wheeler book on raptors.  He says that only s4 and s9 are ever retained into prebasic II, but this bird has more than that.  If anyone else has expertise to add that would be great.

Scott

• Like 2

I"m no expert either but I think you're both on the right track regarding age of this eagle.   First year birds show significantly white armpits and darker heads; this bird shows the strong whitish chest and lighter head of a second year bird.  Assuming it's a Texas eagle, or fairly southern in origin, it could have hatched as early as January, which means it could be just entering or about to enter its second year.

• Like 1