Whatbird Community

Saw this guy today in central Vermont, soaring near a calling Broad-winged. I am having trouble determining how many “fingers” the bird has, as well if there is actually wing crescents, due to the molt. Does anybody see anything that could definitively say Broad-winged vs Red-shouldered here?

6535CBAA-0755-4E9E-ACDA-5C5CFC92EC0C.jpeg

I probably shouldn't be entering this conversation as I have very little experience with BWHAs or the Eastern RSHA subspecies, but I'd call that a Broad-winged if I saw it here in the west.

I'm not sure if molt pattern could say anything about this ID, but I do know that practically every spring BWHA record from the California and Nevada deserts are of SY birds molting their inner primaries, much like this bird. I'll also say this bird looks pretty much identical to the bird I saw in the desert this spring and called a BWHA. 

• Like 3

13 hours ago, kansabirdguy said:

Looks like 5 or maybe 6 to me if that helps. Does that point to Red-shouldered?

Broad-wings have 4, Red-shouldered has 5

1 hour ago, Avery said:

Broad-wings have 4, Red-shouldered has 5

I'm not very good at trickier IDs, or simple IDs for that matter, but I can count pretty good and I count five fingers on both wings. What I call 'fingers' might be wrong, but I am pretty sure my count is right.

• Like 1

11 minutes ago, lonestranger said:

I'm not very good at trickier IDs, or simple IDs for that matter, but I can count pretty good and I count five fingers on both wings. What I call 'fingers' might be wrong, but I am pretty sure my count is right.

That’s my issue too. The molt may be making P6 look like a finger, or it could actually be one. 

31 minutes ago, Avery said:

That’s my issue too. The molt may be making P6 look like a finger, or it could actually be one.