Whatbird Community

Today as I opened the back door to put out more peanuts,  I was shocked to see this  extremely large bird of prey perched high in a tree a good distance from me.  I quickly grabbed my cell phone and binoculars to get a better look.  It is white underneath and it looked like possibly a light grey head.  It had the expected beak.  What also surprised me was that my little songbirds were continuing to feed with this enormous predator clearly in view.  Any idea  as to what bird this is?  Thank you.20190304_140134.thumb.jpg.a0bac83a954d7f597f59a31833c000f8.jpg1595942713_20190304_140139(4).thumb.jpg.8d5a34df50dc038c7f24fb9fea04d6d9.jpg

Thank you for the replies, it is just much larger then other red tails I have seen.  Just a big one I guess.  I am surprised the songbirds were still feeding with this hawk so visibly perched, is that normal?  I am new to all of this as you can no doubt tell.  Thank you for your quick replies.  Pretty hawk.

Yeah, size is notoriously hard to judge, especially when they're up close, and by themselves in a tree. Female Red-tails can definitely be substantially larger than males, however. As to why the passerines weren't concerned, it could be because a Red-tailed Hawk is surprisingly not much of a danger to small birds. They prefer rodents and birds larger then you're average House Sparrow. Being a Buteo, they're not super manoeuvrable, like for example a Cooper's or Sharp-shinned Hawk, which are built to catch songbirds. 

• Like 1

6 minutes ago, egosnell2002 said: