Whatbird Community
Sign in to follow this  
Skull Guy

Colorado Information

We are planning to visit friends near Boulder next year and I am trying to focus my time for the "best" birding. We have never birded west of the Mississippi except for Houston and Hawaii, so many birds will be new. We have flexibility in the month we go, I am thinking mid May to mid June would be best for maximizing birds but am open to suggestions (migration?). We will be doing a lot of birding during the visit so can travel a distance from Boulder. Any advice is welcome!

Well I have very little experience birding in Colorado, perhaps @Phalarope713 or someone else can give you more info!

However, I would suggest going in early to mid June and focusing on seeing breeding birds. It might still be snowy at the higher elevations in May, by June all the breeding birds will be present, roads in the mountains should be open, etc...

From Boulder, there are 2 primary areas I would suggest going.

First, I would suggest going into the northeast portion of the state, such as Pawnee National Grassland, in the shortgrass prairies. Here, you can look for grassland birds such as Mountain Plover, Lark Bunting, Prairie Falcon, Golden Eagle, McCown's Longspur, etc...

Second, I would suggest birding in Rocky Mountain National Park. Up at higher elevations, there are a few different habitats - coniferous forest, where you can look for birds like American Three-toed Woodpecker, Red Crossbill, Steller's and Canada Jays, Dark-eyed Juncos, Mountain Chickadees, and breeding warblers such as Yellow-rumped, MacGillivray's, and Wilson's Warbler. There is also alpine tundra, where you can look for the prized Rocky Mountain specialty birds, White-tailed Ptarmigan and Brown-capped Rosy-finch. Your best chance for these birds is up on Trail Ridge Road. Mountain Bluebirds are also found in alpine tundra.